1969 Tootsietoy #1451 Farm Tractor Set

When I recently pulled my childhood Miniatures Cars Case out of storage, I took all of the Tootsietoy cars out of it to put them on display. As I was looking them over, I realized this Farm Tractor set was something unique from the others.

Rather than being made of a single piece of die-cast like the other 1:64ish Tootsietoys from my childhood, this tractor has a metal base riveted to the upper body.

The tractor, plow, and utility cart also have two-piece wheels (a yellow plastic hub with a black tire) rather than the single-piece black plastic wheel found on most Tootsietoys.

Some of the childhood toys that I still have were acquired by my older siblings or when I was too young to remember how it was packaged. But I did find an example on eBay of this Farm Tractor and the Utility Cart in the original package. The back of the package has the words “Collector Series” along with illustrations of 12 different sets available, most of them truck and trailer combinations or heavy equipment vehicles. I didn’t, however, find an example of the Farm Tractor set that also included the disc and plow (see edit below).

Edit 08/16/21: While on a road-trip to St. Louis this past weekend, I made a stop at the Brass Armadillo outside Kansas City, where I found an example of the Tootsietoy Farm Set that includes all four of the models from my childhood. I wasn’t really interested in buying it, but I was excited to document the complete (although pretty rough) package.

Leave a comment